Tea Talks: I Know I’m Pretty

Calling someone beautiful and pretty or cute or whatever, is nice. It feels good to have someone compliment you or think that you look beautiful. But there’s a certain point in time where those compliments mean nothing. It’s because these compliments are empty.

I am a firm believer in people being beautiful to someone. Everyone is beautiful, therefore anyone can come up to you and tell you that you’re pretty. But what else?

What else am I besides pretty/cute/beautiful/gorgeous/whatever synonym that comes up online when you search for an alternative way of saying pretty?

This might be an unpopular opinion but so what if you think I’m pretty? I know physical attraction is important, but it’ll only last so long. There are a lot of people who still want to be called beautiful and pretty, and that feeling will always feel nice if it’s genuine.

Wouldn’t you rather want someone to think you’re beautiful out of the blue, than just stating it every few messages they send you? Yes you’re pretty, you are beautiful, but there’s so much more to you than just a mediocre compliment.

A lot of people have told me to just take the compliment and say thank you, which is what I do. But honestly, I don’t have to say thank you. A lot of people, just like me, have struggled with their self-image and trying to figure out if they are comfortable with the way they look. It has taken them a lot to understand that being pretty means so little in the grand scheme of things. It takes so much in and out of someone to understand that yes I am beautiful because I am so much more than that.

If you let people’s compliments build your self-esteem then it will easily fall apart in the blink of an eye. But if you build it yourself, it might take years, but if you go through with it and realize that you are not perfect, that you don’t have to be. So build yourself, find yourself, and become someone that you want to be. Change for yourself, not for anyone else. Know that you are beautiful, and also so much more than that.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that you shouldn’t fall in love with people or let yourself believe that they love you just because they give you a little bit of attention. Remember that anyone can tell you that you’re beautiful and that’s not hard to do. It’s not hard simply because you are beautiful, it’s not hard stating the obvious. It’s like basing your entire everyday conversations with stating what colour the sky is today and what the weather is like. Everyone can see that it’s sunny, that there are clouds, that there are raindrops outside, and also that you’re beautiful.

I’m not saying to not fall in love, just to be careful. Because not everyone you give your heart to will know what to do with it. So take your heart and give it someone who can tell you you’re more than just pretty.

 

I hope you liked this, it took a lot of thoughts to compile and filter out for this blog post. There will be more coming due to the fact that I’ve organized my thoughts. Till next time.

-Dani

 

 

Published by

danielle.wng

Hello! I'm Dani(elle), the reason for brackets is because you can call me by my first name or my nickname, Dani or Danielle. This is my little corner of the internet and I just babble on and on about anything. I love cafes, coffee, books and all things cozy. I'm very bad at describing myself, but enjoy your stay!

One thought on “Tea Talks: I Know I’m Pretty”

Leave a Reply

